Make your own free website on


About This Association

Victoria Cross
In 1975 the then Australian Government decided to move away from recommending Australians for imperial awards for acts of bravery and instituted an AUSTRALIAN BRAVERY SYSTEM.

In 1991, the government constituted an Australian Gallantry set of awards including, a Victoria Cross for Australia. (Pictured Left)

In conjunction with this move they also instituted the Order of Australia (for community / military service) and the National Medal for long service in the uniformed forces / services. In 1991 defence long service awards were instituted and modified.

The Australian Bravery and Gallantry decorations system consist of four levels of award plus a Group Citation.

Awards for bravery and Gallantry are not freely given and indeed, over the past quarter century, only five Crosses of Valour have been awarded and approximately 125 Stars of Courage. Indeed, Gallantry awards have even been more infrequently awarded.

'The importance of the Bravery and Gallantry Awards can scarcely be overstated. They are the ultimate recognition that an individual can receive. The Cross of Valour and the Victoria Cross are level one awards and rate equal to each other. Although listed after the Victoria Cross in the Order of Wearing, the clear intention was that they should be seen as equal'.

These awards have gone to men and women, for acts of bravery in Australia and overseas. They have been made in times of peace and war, and war-like situations. Nearly every tragedy in Australia has produced, as Sir Roden Cutler VC describes, " True Heroes ".

The Australian Bravery Association membership consists of all recipients of an Australian or Imperial Honour or Award for Bravery or Gallantry. This extends to other official groups who confer awards in recognition for Bravery or Gallantry such as Police Services, Fire Services and Royal Humane / Life Saving Society’s etc. Recipients of these awards are welcome as members. Other classes of membership are open to recipient’s families.

The Associations National Executive Committee consists of a National President, Deputy National President, National Secretary, National Treasurer/Membership Secretry, Public Officer, and National Vice Presidents representing each State and Territory of Australia. Click here to view our contact us.

Keith Payne VC

Keith Payne VC
Vice Patron of the Australian Bravery Association
Click here to read more about our Vice Patron